Showing posts with label revenue. Show all posts
Showing posts with label revenue. Show all posts

2017-12-30

The Value of BTL/CVM Pricing

BTL (Below-the-line), or CVM (Customer Value Management), or Segmented Pricing are all buzzwords that almost all business people heard about, but…
What is the real value of CVM/BTL Pricing for the business?
I will demonstrate it through a simplified example, so keep in mind that there are many different ways of applying it and this is just an example of a Business to Consumer model which also has above-the-line/open market offers.

So, let’s consider in this example an online retail store.

In this model the ATL (Above-the-line) price is the one presented to all unidentified customers that are surfing the webpages of the online retail store looking for great deals.

The ATL price tend to be aligned with the Demand and Supply curves intersection (Price vs. Quantity), since it is the market equilibrium point.




 Note – Usually the cost per unit sold tend to decrease with incremental quantity, but for the sake of simplicity of this model example, that cost will be stable.

Although the online business is extracting relevant profit with the ATL proposition, as you can see in the graphic above, the company is not maximizing their overall profit and revenue potential.

How to improve business efficiency and extract more revenue and profit from the market?
The business efficiency can be improved through Customer Value Management (CVM), where it can be developed Segmentation Analysis, Targeted Marketing and also Targeted Pricing, communicating tailored offers to those customers through Below-the-line channels, where only selected customers will be exposed to personalized discounted offers.


The company through CVM efficiency improvement will now have multiple supply curves to address different segments that were not willing to pay the ATL price.

So, BTL discounted offers managed through Targeted Marketing, Targeted Pricing and Targeted Communication will generate incremental revenue and incremental profit, since the customers engaged with the online store will increase, generating more sales.

In this example of the online store, how it can be implemented?
  • The first step will be always through data analysis; in this example the online store may explore different data sources. Examples: The customer's accounts details in the store, their previous purchase records, or the website cookies that track the pages that the customer visited without buying the items, and others.
  • From the data analysis previously described, the online store may now identify different customer segments and deliver to them personalized product/price proposals with the support of revenue/margin optimization models.
  • And finally, the tailored offer must be communicated to the customer through a BTL channel (example: newsletter) so it may be promoted individually as an exclusive promotion only valid for that customer.

Following this approach, the online store can now explore new segments that before were out of reach from the ATL proposition, since although they had interest in the product, they were not willing to pay the ATL price and as shown in the graph below, the company will be able to increase their revenue and profit.


The Risk and Challenge…
… It is critical to avoid impacting customers that were willing to pay the ATL price with the BTL discounted prices.
If the segmentation analysis and/or execution are not properly executed, there is a high risk of cannibalization of the ATL revenue by the BTL discounted propositions, therefore leading to revenue erosion, instead of revenue growth as intended.

Keep in mind that proper Customer Value Management through BTL Segmentation and BTL Pricing require a lot of resources, but also don´t forget that the revenue and profit growth opportunities through BTL are also huge.

Note that Customer Value Management (CVM) is not only about BTL discounted offers and this case is just a basic example of how CVM can bring incremental value to a company.

2017-01-20

Sales Incentives Can Backfire

Sales Incentives and Commissions are common in many industries as a tool to improve sales performance internally or through Indirect Channels as Telesales or Retail Agents.

Usually, companies design their commissions’ models around a percentage (%) of the billed revenue because automatically rewards performance growth (5% of 10,000 is always more than 5% of 7,000).
So… where is the flaw of the revenue approach?
Most of the companies´ have more than one product on their portfolio, since they are aiming to extract the maximum value from each customer by upselling, so to better understand the issue, please check below.

Consider an Insurance Company that has two Life Insurance products in their portfolio, the Insurance Basic which has a price of $500 a year and another called Insurance Premium that costs $1000. 

In this example the sales strategy is pushed through one telesales partner, by rewarding the partner with 5% of the first year bill of the acquired customer, which means that the Insurance company will be paying $25 for each customer that buys Insurance Basic and $50 for each customer that buys Insurance Premium.

So, at a first glance it looks like there is an automatic incentive to the Telesales partner to push Insurance Premium first, since the partner will make double the commission per each sale on the Premium product.

Well… that is the flaw. Most of the commissions’ schemes don´t incorporate a key variable which is time. 
The sales pitch effort that can be measured by the average time per sale of each insurance product.

The insurance company must also understand his telesales partner perspective, since the time spent and effectiveness per each phone call is critical to the telesales partner business model.

If in this example the Insurance Premium product takes 4x more time to sell than the Insurance Basic product, the telesales partner will be only focused on the cheapest product (Basic) regardless of the briefing provided by the Insurance company, because per each Insurance Premium product sold ($50 commission) the partner expects to sell 4 Insurance Basic products, therefore he can extract more value in the same time ($25 x 4= $100 commission) by pushing solely the Basic product and...

... this brings a huge opportunity cost to the Insurance Company since they will have many customers that would have bought the Premium product, but instead were only exposed to the cheapest one.
To address this revenue model flaw there are basically 2 solutions:

  • Develop a commission scheme that also incorporates the sales pitch time/effort per product/segment, so you may get the expected focus from the telesales partner.
  • Or hire 2 different partners and each one will be solely focused in one of the segments/products.

2014-03-02

Top 10 box office movies of 2013

Today is the Oscars night, so check out also the top 10 most successful movies of 2013 in the USA, regarding their box office revenue:

1st - The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
2nd - Iron Man 3
3rd - Frozen
4th - Despicable Me 2
5th - Man of Steel
6th - Gravity
7th - Monsters University
8th - The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
9th - Fast & Furious 6
10th - Oz The Great and Powerful

Font: boxofficemojo.com